[SOLVED] Step 6: php error

Install and configure FormaLMS and DoceboCE
Post Reply
eric.rosel
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 7:44 am
Version: forma.lms 2.0

[SOLVED] Step 6: php error

Post by eric.rosel »

Hi All,

Good day!
It's my first time to try Forma.
I'm installing it on CentOS 6 with:
. php 5.6
. mysql 5.5
. httpd 2.2

Everything goes well until step 6.
On step 6 I see a red "X" beside the words "Importing database",
and below that it says "PHP ERROR".

Is there any way to make the installer a little bit more verbose than that, to help locate the cause of the error?

Thank you very much.
step 6 php error
step 6 php error
Last edited by eric.rosel on Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
alfa24
Senior Boarder
Posts: 2009
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:45 am

Re: Step 6: php error

Post by alfa24 »

You should raise your web server error reporting and check server logs. That error is a javascript generic callback.
Anyway, you could try to set debug to true in config.php, but I don't if this setting would be ignored by the installer, and moreover, it could stop even earlier due to many strict standards problems.
Per supporto GRATUITO contattatemi in privato qui
eric.rosel
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 7:44 am
Version: forma.lms 2.0

Re: Step 6: php error

Post by eric.rosel »

Thank you for the quick reply.

I've set "error_reporting = E_ALL" in /etc/php.ini
And i've set "$cfg['do_debug'] = true;" in config.php
I've even added these lines to index.php:

error_reporting(E_ALL);
ini_set('display_errors', 1);

But there are still no errors logged in /var/log/httpd/error_log

Is Forma LMS able to run on php 5.6 ?
Thank you.
eric.rosel
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 7:44 am
Version: forma.lms 2.0

Re: Step 6: php error

Post by eric.rosel »

Some updates:
Tried downgrading to php 5.5 - still got the same error.
Tried downgrading to php 5.4 - still got the same error.
Tried downgrading to php 5.3 - got a new error:

PHP Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '[' in /var/www/html/forma/index.php on line 35

So the minimum php version required by Forma LMS is php 5.4
alfa24
Senior Boarder
Posts: 2009
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:45 am

Re: Step 6: php error

Post by alfa24 »

I'm afraid is something related to your environment. I could debug only if I was on your system.
Per supporto GRATUITO contattatemi in privato qui
eric.rosel
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 7:44 am
Version: forma.lms 2.0

Re: Step 6: php error

Post by eric.rosel »

I tried to install it again, this time on:
. Ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS
. php 7.0
. mysql 5.5
. apache 2.4

Still got the same error.
eric.rosel
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 7:44 am
Version: forma.lms 2.0

Re: Step 6: php error

Post by eric.rosel »

I found the cause.
I was accessing the server through a reverse proxy because the server was on a private network.
Forma LMS doesn't seem to like this.
I had to connect directly to the private network to be able to successfully install Forma LMS.

After installation, Forma LMS could already be accessed through the reverse proxy.
Thank you very much for the help @alfa4, and I hope someone finds this bit of info useful in the future.
Post Reply