The Elearning Community • Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0
Page 1 of 2

Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:24 pm
by haseeb
I want to create multiple domains on my local machine if its possible otherwise on the server.

My aim is to create multiple domains for my clients and give them url so that they can login and create their users and courses.

How to do it. As I am new in formaLMS 2.0. I need step by step process. please

Re: Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:53 am
by alberto
Hi haseeb,

assuming that you already created and set you domains to point to the same account hosting the platform, you can associate different templates to each domain.
Just go to admin > settings > configuration > settings > advanced

Find the tex field labeled "Domain Template assignment", and insert

[yourdomain.com],[templatename]

You can add as many url as you like, one per line

Re: Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:04 am
by haseeb
I just installed forma lms on my machine and I haven't done anything else. Now I want to configure multidomain. How to do it I mean the first step In which I can configure multidomain URL. The steps you mentioned I believe it's for template registration with the domain name. But how to configure multidomain and access it? Is it possible to make it work on local machine? like

localhost:8080/formalms -------------- Main domain
localhost:8080/formalms.company1 ------------ sub domain 1
localhost:8080/formalms.company1 ----------- sub domain 2
alberto wrote:
Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:53 am
Hi haseeb,

assuming that you already created and set you domains to point to the same account hosting the platform, you can associate different templates to each domain.
Just go to admin > settings > configuration > settings > advanced

Find the tex field labeled "Domain Template assignment", and insert

[yourdomain.com],[templatename]

You can add as many url as you like, one per line

Re: Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:19 pm
by alfa24
For local installations to work, you should be messing about virtual hosts and hosts file.

Re: Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:10 pm
by AF24
e' possibile creare il multidominio partendo da questa configurazione
- terzodominio.dominio.it/elearning (cartella in cui è installata forma 2.1)
ad avere l'accessio alla piattaforma di cui sopra su un altro terzo dominio del tipo
regione.dominio.it/elearning
perchè seguendo la guida, non riesco.

Re: Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:38 pm
by max
Di solito noi creiamo url di tipo elearning.regione.dominio.it, non come l'hai costruita tu
Ma dovrebbe funzionare lo stesso.
Devi però far puntare la tua url alternativa al DNS (o indirizzo IP) della tua piattaforma, per chiudere il giro.

Re: Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:14 pm
by AF24
ecco, quest'ultima parte è molto difficile, non ho trovato guide a riguardo. Premetto che non ho capito se sul terzo dominio alternativo devo o meno installare forma 2.1, e in fase di installazione dare l'impostazione del db di forma 2.1 madre (dove sono contenuti tutti i dati) oppure installare solo la cartella template.

Re: Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:24 pm
by max
Far puntare una url a un DNS o indirizzo IP non è un'operazione che fai in piattaforma, devi farla sul pannello di controllo del dominio stesso. Il tuo pannello, se il dominio è tuo, o del tuo cliente se è suo.
È un'operazione da 2 minuti.

Per il resto, non devi installare Forma N volte: la piattaforma è sempre la stessa, ma può essere raggiunta da molteplici URL.
Per chiudere il giro, devi configurare (in configurazione della piattaforma) che alla URL pippo corrisponda il template pippo, a pluto il template pluto e così via.
Non devi nemmeno installare il template su altri domini, anche perché non vuole dire nulla: devi duplicare il tuo template, dargli un nuovo nome e cambiare logo, immagini e colori sul nuovo template.
La cosa funzionava già su Forma 1.4 e funziona ovviamente anche sulla 2

Se ti interessa, abbiamo un plugin (Templedit) che serve a creare template multipli e a modificarli direttamente da interfaccia.

Re: Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:28 pm
by AF24
per il momento, non riuscendo ad impostare il dns correttamente, ho risolto con un iframe

Re: Multi domain using Forma lms 2.0

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2018 4:06 pm
by alfa24
Attenzione ai problemi di sicurezza.
Puoi dirmi (anche in privato) chi è il provider del dominio e il piano hosting?

This site uses cookies.

Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. We also use Google Analytics scripts, which all use cookies.
You may delete or block all cookies from this site in your browser options.